Blah blah blah on blank

As I hadn’t much idea for new posts today, I was looking for a ‘blank canvas’ image to illustrate my empty mind, and oh surprise! There are plenty!!!

And it amazing how each artist still got their own touch on the subject: using different tools, different medium, dimensions, shade, title (or absence of it!)…

I remember very well the first time I saw a blank canvas in a museum: it was in Hamburg, in the Hamburger Kunsthalle, I was 15 years old and all my schoolmates and teachers were making fun of it because for them it wasn’t  art.
It was then the first museum showing contemporary art I went to and I had the fantastic feeling to enter in another world where everything was possible like walking through the weird mind (mix of dreams and nightmares) of someone and this blank canvas was for me one the best example of this: I didn’t care if this wasn’t art, if I could do it myself, it was a dream!
Yes. This blank canvas represented for me the beginning of something, no idea what, but this something could be anything, real or unreal, and who cares! Looking at it, I felt empowered, like I discover I could be the artist of my life, at the beginning to paint my masterpiece (what a romantic idea for a 15 years girl!)

So, if even the most simple image (or even non-image?) can symbolise something to ourselves, should we conclude the blank canvas is the purest form of art?

Vincent Szarek, Trans America, 2014
Polyester and  urethane on linen

Won Kun Jun, Untitled, 2015
Acrylic on Canvas

Karmelo Bermejo, Blank, 2013
Blank canvas made of solid white acrylic paint

Julia Rommel, Around Woman, 2013
oil on linen
Michael E. Smith, Untitled, 2103
Mixed Media on paper (2 sides)
Leave a Reply

